Elektra Awards 2011
14th December 2011, Park Plaza, Westminster Bridge
Latest News :

Elektra European Electronics Industry Awards 2011

 A panel of independent judges has made its decisions as part of the Elektra European Electronics Industry Awards 2011, and the shortlisted finalists in each of the 16 award categories are published below.

The winners will be announced at an Elektra Awards Dinner and Christmas Party which takes place on Wednesday 14th December at the Park Plaza, Westminster Bridge in London.

The established annual highpoint of the electronics industry, the Elektra Awards gives the industry the opportunity to recognise the achievements of individuals and companies across Europe. They are designed to promote best practice in key areas including, innovation, sales growth and employee motivation.



 Business Awards

 Design Team of the Year

Sponsored by:

 Altera Europe - Development of 28Gbit/s FPGA transceiver

ByteSnap Design - In-house resources for design of DSP to applications software

HiWave - Transducer design for audio and haptic touch systems

Nordic Semiconductor - Bluetooth low energy IC design Team


 Distributor of the Year

 Sponsored by:

Anglia Components




RS Components



Environmental Award

Sponsored by:

Axiom Manufacturing Services - Programme to cut carbon emissions by 40%

Datec Technologies - Certification by the Carbon Trust business standard 2010

Ericsson Power Modules – Participation in low-carbon assessment by WWF


 Manufacturer Export Award

Sponsored by:


Axis Electronics





New Company of the Year

Sponsored by:


PragmatiC Printing

United EMS


 Engineers of the Future

 Educational Support Award 

Sponsored by :

Analog Devices - €125,000 Scholarship Fund at University of Limerick

Farnell – Sponsorships and development kit donations to universities

The MathWorks – Funds graduate fellowships and studentships at 12 universities

Premier EDA - Sponsoring of eight students from Hertfordshire at UK universities

Rohde & Schwarz UK – A longstanding programme of support for universities

TDK-Lambda – Donation of £5,000 worth of equipment to Petroc College in Devon



University Department of the Year

Sponsored by:

Bedfordshire University

University of Cambridge

Imperial Collage London

University of Southampton 


 Product Technologies

 Design Tools and development software Award

Sponsored by:

Agilent Technologies - SystemVue graphical tool for electronic system-level design

Cadence Design Systems - System development suite

Movea - MoveaLab – Motion sensing software development tool

Mentor Graphics - Pyxis custom IC design environment

Microchip Technology – MPLAB X open source Integrated Development Environment

RS Components - DesignSpark schematic capture and PCB layout tool


 Embedded System Product of the Year

Sponsored by:

Analog Devices - ADSP-BF592 Blackfin processor

Future Technology Devices International (FTDI) - Vinco USB 2.0 host/device development platform Kontron – Microspace MSMST PCI Express/104 single board computer

MSC Gleichmann - nanoRISC MXM small form-factor ARM modules

Qualcomm - Snapdragon MSM8x60 dual-core processor

Xilinx - Zynq-7000 extensible processing platform



Passive & Electromechanical Product of Year

Sponsored by:

Harting - Han-Yellock connector system

Harwin - Datamate S-Tek shielded high-rel connector

ITT Interconnect - EVC series J1772 electric vehicle connector

Murata - IRS-B series of PIR sensors


 Power System Product of the Year

Sponsored by:

Nujira - NCT-H4010 envelope tracking power supply

Linear Technology - LTM4611 µModule switchmode DC/DC regulator

Power Integrations - LinkZero-AX offline switching IC

Maxim Integrated Products - MAX17710 energy-harvesting IC

SemiSouth - 1,200V silicon carbide power FET (SJDP120R045)

TDK-Lambda - EFE400M digitally controlled medical power supply



Renewable Energy Design Award

Sponsored by:

Future Energy Solutions - Micro-inverter reference design board

LEM - CTSR current transducer

Linear Technology - LTC3105 400mA synchronous step-up DC/DC converter for energy harvesting

Microsemi – SmartFusion-based solar technology portfolio

National Instruments – cRIO modules used by Whitfield Solar

Silicon Laboratories - Energy harvesting reference design


Semiconductor Product of the Year – Analogue

Sponsored by:

Austriamicrosystems - AS540x 3D Hall magnetic encoder

CambridgeIC - CAM204 non-contact linear and rotary position measurement IC

Freescale Semiconductor - Xtrinsic MAG3110 three-axis digital magnetometer

IDT - 89HT0808P signal-conditioning re-timers for PCI Express 3.0 standard

National Semiconductor - LMP91000/90100 sensor analogue frontend ICs

Plessey Semiconductors - PS25150 electric potential IC Sensor



Semiconductor Product of the Year – Digital

Sponsored by:

Altera - 28nm FPGA product ranges

Dialog Semiconductor - DA8223 2D to 3D conversion chip

Lattice Semiconductor - MachXO2 PLD family

Renesas Electronics - RL78/I1A microcontroller for lighting apps

Rohm Semiconductor - BU21023/BU21024 series multi-touch controller for resistive touchscreens

Xilinx - Virtex-7 HT FPGAs


 Solid-State Lighting Application Award

Sponsored by:

Analog Devices - ADP8866 programmable LED driver

Intersil - ISL97671/2/3/4 series of 6-channel LED drivers

Marl International - Military infra red LED assembly

NXP Semiconductors - GreenChip smart lighting chipset



Test Product of the Year

Sponsored by:

Agilent Technologies - PNA N522XA network analyser

Anritsu - ME7838A – Broadband vector network analyser

LeCroy - 45GHz WaveMaster 845Zi-A -Real-time Oscilloscope

National Instruments - PXIe-5186 high-speed digitiser

Rohde & Schwarz - FSW spectrum and signal analyser

Tektronix - MDO4000 series mixed domain oscilloscope


Product Innovation Award - Readers’ Choice

Sponsored by


EnOcean - ECT 310 DC/DC converter enables energy harvesting wireless sensors and actuators to operate through heat

Microsoft - Windows Phone 7 mobile operating system aimed at consumer smartphones

Nintendo - 3DS games console with 3D graphics without the need for special glasses

Panasonic - VT20 series 1920x1080 full-HD 3D plasma television with 600Hz sub-field drive technology

Toumaz - The Sensium Life Platform for the development of medical systems and devices for non-intrusive wireless monitoring of vital signs such as heart rate and ECG

Copyright 2018 Reed Business Information Ltd